Dear MoFa members and friends of malacology!

The planning of the 2. MoFA meeting was somehow delayed due to covid19. Now we are happy to announce the date of the 2nd MoFA meeting on Thursday, 23. September 2021. The meeting will be online, which means that a participation including presentations will be possible via Zoom. In case the COVID19 situation allows, we will organize a hybrid meeting at the Natural History Museum Vienna. This will be decided in August.

Besides the scientific program on 23. September, we plan a field excursion on 24. September – if weather allows – to the Schneeberg, where we may find Cylindrus obtusus and other gastropods of the alpine zone. We may also visit interesting Clausiliid populations at Puchberg.

We hope to attract scientists at all stages of their scientific career to promote their networking. Contributions from all fields of malacology are welcome!

As with our first meeting, we announce that the MoFA Junior Award will be awarded for the participants in early career stage: For MSc as well as PhD studies two awards each will be given (each 300 € / 200 € for talk / short presentation).

Please spread this information among colleagues.
Conference language is English.
Please register and submit your contributions soon to allow proper planning; at the latest 31. July 2021.
We are looking forward to meeting you in September!

Details and Registration

Liebe MoFA-Mitglieder, liebe malakologisch Interessierte!

Die Planung der MoFA-Tagung 2021 schritt – bedingt durch Covid19 – einigermaßen verzögert, voran. Nun ist der Termin fix. Wir freuen uns die Tagung für Donnerstag, den 23. September anzukündigen. Die Tagung wird auf jeden Fall online stattfinden, das heißt, eine Teilnahme wird via Zoom möglich sein. Wenn sich die COVID-Situation weiter entspannt, wäre eine Hybridveranstaltung am Naturhistorischen Museum in Wien möglich. Die Entscheidung darüber soll im August getroffen werden.

Neben dem wissenschaftlichen Programm am 23. September wird am 24. September eine Exkursion in der weiteren Umgebung Wiens stattfinden. Diese wird uns (passende Wetterbedingungen vorausgesetzt) auf den Schneeberg führen, wo wir in Puchberg Clausilienstandorte besuchen können und in der alpinen Region Cylindrus obtusus und andere alpine Schnecken im Lebensraum aufspüren können.

Wir freuen uns, wenn Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aller Phasen ihrer wissenschaftlichen Karriere an der Tagung teilnehmen und möglichst viel Vernetzung zustande kommt. Beiträge aus allen Bereichen der Malakologie sind willkommen!

Wie auch bei der ersten Tagung wird es wieder die MoFA Junior-Awards für studentische Beiträge geben: für Beiträge aus dem Master-bzw. PhD-Studium sind jeweils zwei Preise ausgeschrieben (je 300 € / 200 € für Vortrag/Kurzvortrag).

Bitte verbreiten Sie diese Ankündigung an Interessierte in Ihrem Umkreis.
Die Tagungssprache ist Englisch.

Wir bitten um möglichst frühe Anmeldung, um realistisch planen zu können, spätestens aber bis 31. Juli 2021.
Wir freuen uns auf ein Zusammenkommen im September!

Details und Registrierung